October 7, 2022

Free Online Conference: Getting the Next Decade Right on Net-Zero

2030 in Focus: Getting the Next Decade Right on Net-Zero
Event Date: 18.10.22
The Net-Zero Advisory Body and the Canadian Climate Institute will host “2030 in Focus: Getting the Next Decade Right on Net-Zero” on October 18, 2022. Discussions will focus on the progress toward net zero, from a national and an international perspective.

Date: October 18, 2022

Time: 5:30 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. Pacific Time

You can register online by clicking this link.

The conference will occur, in person, at Ottawa’s National Arts Centre and will also be broadcast live. It will feature keynote speakers, moderated panels, and fireside conversations with national and international climate change policy experts, as well as political, business, and Indigenous leaders. A networking reception will follow for those who want to connect with their climate policy colleagues.

Register for Virtual Option
Please note: In-person tickets are wait-list only. Please contact Dean Evangeliou at devangeliou@climateinstitute.ca from more information.

October 18: Full-day conference and evening reception, Ottawa’s National Arts Centre / online
Time Session Title Speakers
8:30-8:50 Land Acknowledgement and Welcome
Algonquin Elder: Verna McGregor
Co-MC’s: Marie-Pierre Ippersiel and Sandra Odendahl

The Net Zero Pathway Over the Next Decade
Dan Wicklum, Co-Chair, NZAB
Rick Smith, President, CCI

9:05-9:20 Welcoming remarks, pre-recorded
Corinne Le Quéré, Présidente,
Haut conseil pour le climate, France
Valérie Plante, Mayor, Montréal
Yana Garcia, Secretary for
Environmental Protection, California
Brad Archer, CEO,
Australian Climate Change Authority
Opening Remarks

Susannah Goshko,
UK High Commissioner to Canada

9:30-10:00 Keynote TBC
10:00-10:45 Panel discussion: Governance and Accountability
Moderator: Catherine Abreu,
Member, Net-Zero Advisory Body
Panelists: Carole Saab, Chief Executive Officer,
Federation of Canadian Municipalities
Tonio Sadik, Senior Director,
Environment, Lands & Water Branch,
Assembly of First Nations
Scott Skinner, Chair,
Nova Scotia Minister of the Environment and
Climate Change’s Roundtable on the Environment and Sustainable Prosperity
Jerry DeMarco, Commissioner
of the Environment and Sustainable Development
10:45-11 Break
11:00-11:30 U.S. Emissions Reductions Progress
Andrew Light, Assistant Secretary of Energy for International Affairs,
US DOE in conversation with
Shawn McCarthy, Energy & Climate Change Writer
11:30-12:00 The Opportunities of Electrification: Perspectives from Québec
France Lampron, Director,
Energy and Mobility Solutions, Hydro Québec
Sidney Ribaux, Director of Ecological Transition and Resilience, City of Montréal
12:00-12:50 Lunch
12:50-13:35 Panel discussion: Affordability Through Climate Action
Moderator: Marco Oved, Climate Reporter, Toronto Star
Panelists: Leah Stokes, Associate Professor,
University of California Santa Barbara
Merran Smith, Chief Innovation Officer,
Clean Energy Canada
Phil MacDonald, Chief Operating Officer, Ember
13:35-14:25 Panel discussion: Making Climate Progress in a Volatile World
Introduction from a Canadian perspective:
Mark Jaccard, Member, BC Climate Solutions Council and Professor, Simon Fraser University

Moderator: Fatima Syed, The Narwhal
Panelists: Chris Stark, Chief Executive,
UK Committee on Climate Change
Sara Moarif, Head of Environment and Climate Change, IEA
Preety Bhandari, Senior Advisor, World Resources Institute
Keynote: The scientific case for courage
Simon Donner, Professor, UBC and Member, NZAB
Panel discussion: Capital markets in the Net Zero Transition

Moderator: Jane Ambachtsheer, Global Head of Sustainability, BNP Paribas
Panelists: Anna Murray, Global Head of ESG,
SLC Management
Lindsay Patrick, Head, Strategic Initiatives and ESG,
RBC Capital Markets
Joy Williams, Executive Director, Financial Institution Net-zero Transition Plans, GFANZ
15:25-15:50 Closing Remarks: Canadian Climate Priorities and COP 27

Jonathan Wilkinson, Minister of Natural Resources,
Steven Guilbeault, Minister of Environment and Climate Change

15:50-16:00 Thanks
Dan Wicklum/Marie-Pierre Ippersiel, Co-Chairs, NZAB
Rick Smith, President, CCI
16:00-18:00 Closing reception

Posted in


If you love this region and have a view to its future please subscribe, donate, or become a Patron.

Share on